The Right Firm For Your Needs Our Team Has Successfully Handled Thousands of Cases

DWI Defense Lawyers in Poughkeepsie

What Are The Penalties For DWI in New York?

The penalties for DWI in the state of New York may vary significantly, depending on whether it is your first offense, as well as on the circumstances surrounding the alleged crime.

For example, a first-time DWI would be charged much differently than a third-time DWI or even a first-time DWI with an injury. If you are convicted of a misdemeanor or felony DWI, it will result in a conviction on your criminal record and on your driving record. Your license may be suspended and possibly revoked, depending on the state of your driving record at the time.

In New York, the penalties for a DWI are as follows:

First DWI, Misdemeanor:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to $500-$1,000 in fines
  • 6-months license suspension (minimum)

Second DWI, Class E Felony:

  • A period of 5 days to 4 years in jail or prison
  • 30 days of community service
  • 1 year of license suspension (minimum)

Third DWI, Class E Felony:

  • Up to 4 years in jail
  • Fines of up to $5,000

If you've been arrested for DWI, get help quickly. Call our firm at (845) 436-3193 or contact us online now.

Aggressively Fighting Drunk Driving Charges

There are a number of reasons why law enforcement may believe you are intoxicated, causing them to pull you over. This can include anything from ignoring traffic signals or driving at excessive speeds to drifting over the lanes. However, all of these reasons are circumstantial.

At Jonna Spilbor Law, our goal is to investigate every aspect of your case, including whether or not the officer had legal grounds to pull you over. You can count on our Poughkeepsie DWI defense attorneys to advocate for you and leave no stone unturned.

Information About Ignition Interlock Devices

An ignition interlock is a device that requires a person to blow into a breath testing machine to not only start their car, but the driver must also blow intermittently while the car is in motion if he or she wants to keep it in motion!

The ignition interlock must be installed in any car owned or driven by a person who is convicted of a DWI.

The “IID” restriction will be noted on your license. If you get caught driving a vehicle without an IID, you will be arrested and charged with a crime.

Most courts in New York are requiring installation of the ignition interlock for Misdemeanor DWI convictions for six months or one year.

If the ignition interlock detects a blood alcohol concentration level of .025 or over it will not allow the car to start. And if your family member drives the car, he or she needs to blow too. And yes, mouthwash may keep you from getting to work.

Hire a Skilled DWI Defense Lawyer in Poughkeepsie

If you were arrested for driving while intoxicated, time is of the essence. We understand how much is on the line, from your driving privileges to your reputation. You can count on our experienced Poughkeepsie DWI lawyers to thoroughly investigate your case and begin building a defense as soon as you hire us.

The sooner you hire a legal team like ours to represent you, the better your chances are of reinstating your license and fighting the charges against you.

Contact us at (845) 436-3193 to make an appointment. We're here to help.

A Step Above the Rest

Schedule Your Legal Strategy Session Today
  1. A Firm Founded & Led by a Strong, Nationally-Recognized
    Female Attorney
  2. Full-Service Law Firm Offering Representation in Criminal Defense, Family Law, Estate Planning, Gun Rights, Personal Injury & More
  3. When You Hire Jonna Spilbor Law, You Retain a Team of Dedicated & Experienced Attorneys
  4. Our Team Is Accessible & Returns All Calls Within 24 Hours or Less
  • Please enter your name.
  • This isn't a valid email address.
    Please enter your email address.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
    Please enter your phone number.
    You entered an invalid number.
  • Please select an option.
  • Please enter a message.